Thacker Named Men's Coach of the Year & Kinkema Rookie of the Year

Rookie of the Year -  Coach of the Year

SALEM, Va. – Head Coach Scott Thacker has been named the Old Dominion Athletic Conference Men's Swimming Coach of the Year.

This honor comes as the Maroons rounded out the conference championship series in Greensboro, N.C. on Sunday, Feb. 17.

The Men finished second with 622 team points and the Women finished third with 516 team points.

As a team, Roanoke broke 40 school records at the meet and two conference/meet records.

RC took home five individual titles headed by Connor Kinkema with three first-place finishes. Reilly Bird won the 100 backstroke (56.18) with an NCAA B-cut time and Parker Devillier won the 50 freestyle (21.17). Kinkema won the 400 IM (4:05.64), 100 breaststroke (56.74) with an ODAC and championship record and the 200 breaststroke (2:02.14) also with a conference and championship record and NCAA B-cut time.

Kinkema was named the Rookie of the Year for the men's side for his three individual titles.

Thacker led the Maroons to a 21-2 overall record this season with each team's only head-to-head loss coming to the reigning ODAC champions of Washington and Lee.

RC also tallied six ODAC Swimmers of the Week throughout the course of the season.

For the full 2019 ODAC Championship results visit here.