RC Men's Lax Places Nine on All-ODAC Team; Schwarz Named Rookie of the Year

RC Men's Lax Places Nine on All-ODAC Team; Schwarz Named Rookie of the Year

Forest, Va. – Nine Roanoke College Men's Lacrosse standouts have been named to the 2018 Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) All-Conference Team, including Garritt Schwarz who was named the league's rookie of the year.

Jason Sarro, Conn Curry, Ian Davies and IV Stucker all made first-team, while Schwarz was joined on the second-team by Robby Moore and Tim Aldinger. Brendan Devane and Joey Russell were named to the third-team.

Schwarz, a freshman from Tallahassee, Fla., is the second straight Maroon to earn top rookie honors following Sarro's award in 2017. Schwarz made his presence known from day one following nine points (eight goals) in a 15-10 season-opening victory over Colorado College. Although his first campaign finished early following an injury, Schwarz still ranked fifth in goals scored with 41 and eighth with 56 points. He tacked on 15 assists to his line. He registered at least three points in a game 10 times.

Sarro earns his second spot on the first-team attack after finishing the season with 83 total points which ranks second in the ODAC. He led the league with 43 assists and his 40 goals is sixth most in the league.

Curry closed his career with his third consecutive first-team honor at defense. Curry had 25 caused turnovers on the season which was second in the ODAC, while he picked up 52 groundballs which was 17th most in the league.

Davies makes his first appearance on the All-ODAC First-Team after making second-team last year. This season he posted an ODAC best 220 saves. He also ranked first with a 57.0 save percentage and third in goals-against-average with a 9.24 mark.

Stucker finishes his career in Salem with his third straight first-team accolade. Stucker ranked in the top-10 in the ODAC in points, goals and assists this season. His 67 points is sixth best in the league, while his 37 goals is ninth and his 30 assists is seventh-best.

Moore earns his second straight second-team honor, while Aldinger was second-team after being a third-team selection last year. Moore's 60 groundballs was eighth most in the ODAC and he caused 23 turnovers. Aldinger's 58 groundballs ranked 10th most in the ODAC and he caused 22 turnovers.

Devane finished with 30 goals to go along with 11 assists for 41 points, while Russell played multiple positions for RC, snaring 36 groundballs and causing 23 turnovers.