Twelve Maroons Honored by NFHCA For Academic Success

Twelve Maroons Honored by NFHCA For Academic Success

Salem, Va. -- Twelve Roanoke College Maroons have been named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association 2018 ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad as the organization announced the honors on Wednesday.

Among those honored for their work in the classroom were seniors Megan Diehl (Biology), Kaylin Stenson (Criminal Justice) and Kestrel Thorne-Kaunelis (Psychology) who all earned National Academic Squad distinction in each of their four years.  

Junior Emma Clark (Biology) earned the honor for the third time, while sophomores Lauren Heffron (Business Administration) and Meghan Mercer (Elementary Education) were named for the second time. Freshmen Caroline Diehl (Business Administration), Claire Eisenhart (Mathematics), Emily Gabrielian (Biochemistry), Katie Martin (Chemistry), Claudia Roncone (Business Administration) and Lauren Roth (Christian Studies) were all chosen for the first-time.  

To be named to the National Academic Squad, a player must have earned at least a cumulative 3.30 GPA through the fall term. This year, 1,746 student-athletes made the list, representing 147 schools. 

Roanoke finished the season with 12 wins and made an appearance in the ODAC Semifinals for the second straight season.